Coconut Chicken with Apricot Sauce

I am not a fan of coconut. But I couldn’t resist trying this recipe.  Maybe it’s because the looooong winter weather has overstayed it’s welcome and the call of coconut made me think of someplace tropic. Whatever the reason, I wanted to try it and I am SO glad I did. Fantasticly moist chicken with a crunchy coconut topping that you dip into a zesty apricot sauce. Oh my, I’m having a hard time finishing this post instead of running into the kitchen to whip this up again. :D  I found this recipe here, at Pennies on a Platter. (Fun website and fantastic photos. Makes me want to eat the screen. No joke.)

Now, we dipped the chicken in the sauce, other’s might want to drizzle the sauce over the chicken. Either way, I’m betting it will taste out-of-this-world amazing. :D

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
4 boneless chicken breasts
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup apricot preserves
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

The How-To:
*Preheat the oven to 400˚F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
*Lightly beat the egg in a medium bowl; set aside.  Mix the coconut, flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper in a shallow bowl. 
*Working with one chicken breast at a time, dip the chicken in the bowl with the beaten egg and then coat with the coconut mixture. 
*Place on the baking sheet. 
* Once all chicken breasts are coated and on the baking sheet, evenly drizzle with the melted butter.  Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, flipping once halfway.

The Apricot Sauce:
* mix the apricot preserves and the Dijon mustard in a small bowl.  Chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve. (note..I didn’t have any Dijon mustard, so I 1/4 teaspoon Catalina salad dressing. Ohh la la..I’m in love with this sauce!)

Freezer Friendly:  After baking the chicken, let cool completely then freeze in a freezer bag for up to 1 month.  To reheat, bake in a preheated oven at 400˚F for 20 minutes.

1 Comment

Filed under chicken, dinnertime

One response to “Coconut Chicken with Apricot Sauce

  1. This chicken is seriously irresistible. Glad you liked it and your photos are great! :)

Leave a Reply

