Waffles..with a twist

 

I know we all want to be out-of-control-crazy from time to time.  Right? Right??  Well, I do.  But only in subtle ways. Enter the Cheese Waffle.  I know what you’re thinking..”Cheese? On a waffle?” Yes, my friends. Cheese on a waffle.  I was a bit hesitant at first too, I mean..craziness can only go so far. However, this…I loved.  (then again, I may or may not have been known to eat chunks of cheese right from the brick while pregnant, so anything cheese is probably something I’ll love..)  I first found this recipe here.  (one of my favorite sites ever). 

So, here’s the low-down:

2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
*shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
*syrup, yogurt, fruit..(endless possibilities here)

*In a medium-sized bowl, beat together the eggs, buttermilk, melted (and cooled) butter, and vanilla.
*In another bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients
*Combine the wet and dry ingredients just until smooth
*Using a waffle iron, spray the top and the bottom grills with cooking spray
*Pour batter onto waffle iron (about 1/3 cup or adjust to your iron size)
*If  using cheese, sprinkle batter with 2-3 tablespoons shredded cheddar cheese BEFORE closing the waffle iron
*Cook until iron stops steaming and waffles are to your desired consistency (soft or crunchy or somewhere in between)

Now..my family likes their waffles with syrup.  I, being the crazy food, cheese lover, like mine with a bit of yogurt and fruit. But you can choose whatever you like. It’s your day to be crazy. 🙂

These really are tasty waffles.  The cheese adds a little salty-crispiness, but it’s not ‘BAM!! SALTY”  it’s more of a , “Oh..that is a nice subtle salty-crispiness taste.” kind of effect. Either way you choose to eat these, with cheese or without, they are absolutely delicious and perfect for a morning (or afternoon, or dinnertime) meal.

Leave a comment

Filed under breakfast, dinnertime

Leave a comment