Shortbread puffs

 

“What kind of treat should we make?”
“Hmmmm…how about…shortbread cookies?”

Fear sets in..I have never made these, let alone thought about making these.  There’s just something..’grown-up’..about the word shortbread that scares me. However, this was a request from the love of my life..how could I refuse? And, well, I do like shortbread. What was there to lose?  So I went looking for a recipe. After looking at a few, I settled on this one from Allrecipes. I was pleasantly surprised.  I think it will be a keeper in our house.  We did vary a little from the original directions and rolled these cookies into balls instead of using a cookie cutter.  Then, being the wild and crazy animals that we are, we drizzled melted chocolate over them. There’s no stopping us when it involves cookies. (And as you can see from the above photo..we couldn’t hardly wait to get our hands on these delicious cookies..)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour

The How-to:
*Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).
*Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Stir in vanilla; add flour and mix well.
*Put through cookie press and form cookies onto baking sheets. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.
(I simply rolled out the dough into balls, and then baked.)

Leave a comment

Filed under cookie, dessert

Leave a Reply

