Ham with Pasta

Do you ever have one of those weeks where you have an over abundance of…let’s say..ham, and you don’t know what to do with it all? I mean, yes, I love it. And yes, I can eat it daily. But..after a week of eating ham, I run out of things to do with it.
Enter Ham with Pasta.
Clearly, I’m a genius when it comes to naming foods.  Actually, this meal has a real name, but I couldn’t spell it, so we’ll just call it ‘Ham with Pasta’.  Alright..

Basically, this one dish wonder is a mix of ham, cheese, noodles, and baking spices. You had me at ham! I love this meal because it is easy. Easy as in..I can make it with one hand tied behind my back, easy. Shall we begin? I thought so.

Ingredients:

1 box noodles (penne, rotini, elbow..they all work wonders in this dish.)
1 can diced tomatoes, NOT drained
1 clove garlic, minced
leftover ham,diced
1/2 onion, chopped
1-2 Tablespoons basil
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

The How-To:
*Cook noodles according to package.
*While noodles are cooking, saute garlic and onions in a large skillet until onions are translucent
*Add ham and saute 1 minute more
*Add canned tomatoes WITH juice.  Cook for about 3 minutes
*When noodles are finished cooking, drain, and add into the skillet mixture
*Stir everything together, then add the basil
*Let everything simmer on medium heat until juice has evaporated half way down
*When juices have evaporated down, sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese.  Let cheese melt, then serve,

What I love most about this meal, is that you can add veggies. Lots and lots of veggies. Chopped carrots, zucchini, asparagus, corn..anything you have on hand.You can’t go wrong with this meal and it’s a great way to use up your leftover ham.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinnertime, lunch

Leave a Reply

