Garlic-Rice Pilaf

What does ‘pilaf’ mean?  I wasn’t sure either. Don’t worry, we’ll figure it out together. 😀 
I might know what you’re thinking, though…it looks like a bowl of rice. Simple, plain, bowl of rice.  However, do not be fooled by this.  When it hits your tastebuds, you’ll realize what a gem you’ve discovered with this dish.  😀

I first found this recipe here at Annie Eats, one of my favorite ‘go-to’ sites. No joke..all her food is heavenly! Anyway,   I was looking for a little something extra to go with dinner, but didn’t want the ‘norm’. I did want something simple to make that the kids would love.  When I saw this..I knew I hit the jackpot. Why not? I mean, we like rice and garlic. Combining them could only produce great results.  Watching the kids scarf this down (..and I do mean Scarf with a capitol S..) it became an instant winner in our house.  Super easy to make, super delicious to eat, what’s not to love?

Ingredients:
2 tbsp. butter
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 cup long-grain white rice
2½ cups chicken broth, divided
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. pepper
Squeeze of lemon juice

The How-To: 
*Preheat the oven to 375° 
* In a saucepan or skillet, melt the butter over medium-high heat.  
*Add the garlic and rice to the pan and cook until both are golden brown, about 3-4 minutes.
* Stir in 1 cup of the chicken broth, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.  
*Pour the mixture into the casserole dish, cover, and bake for 25 minutes.  
*Stir in the remaining 1½ cups chicken broth and bake, covered, for another 45 minutes.  
*About 15 minutes before it is finished baking, stir in a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Note: This recipe can be doubled without increasing the baking time.

It seems like it’s a lot of cooking time, but your house will smell amazing as this is cooking.  So worth it.  My advice for next time..make MORE then what I think we’ll eat.  Clearly, we’ll …scarf….it all down.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinnertime, sides

Leave a Reply

