Cowboy Caviar

A few weeks ago we went to a work BBQ for my hubby.  We needed to bring an appetizer.  I don’t do appetizers.  I like desserts.  Lots of desserts.  This was a challenge for me.  I wanted something….dinner-y, yet not a ton of work.  Suddenly inspiration hit.  My bff from, well, my whole life, texted me and gave me this recipe.  I’m sure there’s a few out there that are similar to this, but she called it “Cowboy Caviar.”  And let me just say..it was out of this world.  It’s one of those dishes that you look at it and think, “Yeah, I’ll get it on the next go-around”.  But when you finally take a bite of it..BOOM!!  A little fiesta for your taste buds!!  It was perfect, so much so that several people wanted the recipe.  This is when the devilish side in me came out and really, really, REALLY had to force myself to hand over the recipe.

What I love most is that I have all the ingredients on hand.  No joke. It’s simple, quick, and oh so tasty.  Served with corn chips (we use Scoops Frito Chips)..it truly is a match made in heaven. 

With football season here..you can’t go wrong if you need to take this to a football party!

The Ingredients:
Cowboy Caviar
1 can shoepeg corn ( sometimes in Mexican aisle) or can use white corn
1 can black eyed peas
3 Roma tomatoes chopped
1 bunch cilantro chopped very small
1 small  bunch green onions chopped- just the green part
2 or 3 avocados cut up small pieces
1 tsp cumin
1/8 tsp black pepper
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic ( I use the already cut up version in the jars)
1 bag Fritos Scoops Chips

The How-To:
Chop everything up.  Add the drained beans and dressing (or vinegar and oil). Mix well & it’s best served cold. Serve with chips- the scoops work best!

(FYI: When I made it, I omitted the corn and avocados, and instead of using the vinegar and oil, I used Catalina Salad Dressing. Either way..YUMMMM-O!)

Serve as an appetizer or heck…go ahead and have it for dinner. I know I may..or may not.. have done that several times since making it a few weeks ago.

Leave a comment

Filed under appetizer, sides

Leave a Reply

